John P. Alkire, Sheriff

Sheriff Alkire took office in January of 2012.  He
graduated from the WV State Police Academy in
April of 2002.  Prior to taking office, Sheriff Alkire
served in the United States Air Force, Ellsworth
South Dakota and Clear, Alaska.  He also worked in
the position of Chief Deputy in Hampshire County
prior to being elected to his current position.  
Message from the Sheriff
Dear Citizens & Visitors of Hampshire County:

I want to start by telling you how honored I am to have the opportunity to
serve as your Sheriff and work in the great county in which I was born and

The Sheriff's Office is made up of dedicated, professional, hard working, and
team oriented members.  Our office consists of eight Patrol Deputies, one
Criminal Investigator, one Prevention Resource Officer, one D.A.R.E. Officer,
a Civil Process Server, a Bailiff / Home Incarceration Officer, and one
secretary.  Three of our patrol deputies are K-9 handlers.

We are very proactive in drug & DUI enforcement.  We realize that nearly all
crimes begin with the use of drugs and/or abuse of alcohol.

We greatly appreciate all of the support we receive from the community.  We
know and understand that community interaction is very important in order
for us to successfully carry out our duties.  We work to be very community
oriented and to be involved with our youth.

Everyone at the Sheriff's Office takes pride in serving Hampshire County,
and we always put forth our best effort to serve you in the most efficient way.  
If you are need of law enforcement assistance, please give us a call.

John P. Alkire, Sheriff

Nathan J. Sions, Chief Deputy

Jamie E. Carter, Lieutenant

Brian J. Hinger, Lieutenant

Norman J. Launi II, Sergeant

Greg Kesner, Sergeant

Stuart G. Davis, Sergeant

David L. Feather, Corporal

Phoebe Lahman, Corporal

Travis Dolly, Corporal

Mechelle Sabin, Deputy First Class

Steven L. Haines, Deputy First Class

Trevor Eckerson, Deputy Sheriff

John D. Smith, Deputy Sheriff

Austin J. Shockey, Deputy Sheriff

Nicholas R. Shallcross, Deputy Sheriff

Zachary Godlove, Deputy Sheriff

Robert Carl, Court Security / Home Confinement Officer

Chuck Shanholtz, Civil Process Server

Gary McBride, Correctional & Community Service Officer